Where’s the ‘dislike’ button for social-media bragging?

Question: Why do people feel the need to use social media to constantly brag about their lives? I can’t tell you how many pictures of bouquets and dinners and chocolates popped up on my Facebook feed around Valentine’s Day — on top of the already daily descriptions of “perfect boyfriends” and pictures of vacations in real time. When did people stop living life and start just trying to prove to others that they are doing so?

And, my main question, how can I stop from getting sucked into feeling like I need to prove myself to everyone else? I have a wonderful boyfriend with whom I share such a bond that I don’t care how big his bouquet is or how much my Facebook “friends” know or see … but I almost feel guilty. Like my indifference toward bragging means this relationship really must not be brag-worthy… Read more

Leave a Reply

